All times are UTC

It is currently Sun Oct 06, 2024 10:45 pm

Post subject: Boromir WIP PIC HEAVY
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:51 am 
Craftsman
Craftsman

My first thread! I will by updating the community with my progress on the Boromir model from the MoM set. Please excuse my spelling errors as I'm writing this on my iphone while I work. Please provide critisism! I need it. I'm new to this.

The whole model was based with flat(ish) black spray paint. I seem to be the only one that starts with bases. I start with the base because I can be more precise on a boot than I can be a large rock. This base is a broken block from a Hirst Art mold. It's mean to look like a piece of granite in moria hence the pebbles surrounding it.

The pebbles were dry brushed with a Chaos Black/Codex Grey mix. The Granite was based with above mix. Then dry brushed many times with shades getting closer to Skull White. And eventually with Skull White. The Pebbles were then given a VERY light dry brush with Skull White.

Next I moved to the red cloak. I created a dark Red Gore/Chaos Black mix which I undercoated the cloak with. Then I applied a homemade wash (watered down Chaos Black). To pick up the deep folds of the flowing cloak. My attempt at a pure Red Gore "highlight" was then added.

While that dried I added a tidy drybrush layering of Boltgun Metal--> Chainmail --> Mithril Silver. I'm not one to wait for paint to dry.

At this point I've been working for 45 minutes.

In Tomes Of Wisdom there is a brilliant step-by-step article on painting Boromir. In this article I stumbled upon the idea of adding Dark Flesh to the red/pinks you create to still keep them looking realistic. I mixed Dark Flesh into Red Gore and added a drop or two (with my brush) of Skull White to achieve a somewhat pink/red color that seemed a bit to pink but looked fine when added as a highlight layer to the cloak.